Blog Post #10: The Choice is Yours

This post concludes this series of articles. If you are reading this post before reading Blog Posts 1-9. I’d encourage you take a moment and read those first and then come back to this one.

Whether you have been reading these articles as part of an assignment or at your own leisure. I hope you have found the information provided useful. I know that with graduation approaching, career options are probably not the first thing on your list of priorities , but I really do hope you consider the information provided in this series of articles when you do chose a career field. I would also encourage to take advantage of the resources provided like, the University of Maryland School of Architecture, high school summer program.

To assist summing things up I have compiled of list of reasons as to why I decided to pursue a career in architecture:
1.  I saw the opportunity and I went for it
2. I have always enjoyed drawing and painting, but I was not sure if I could really make a living off of it
3. I enjoy problem solving and UMD’s architecture program has helped develop the skills necessary to tackle more complex problems
4. Architecture is far more than aesthetics, there are many layers to architecture.
5. You are not limited in career paths and I like having options.

This career path has allowed me to tailor my future and not limit myself to one said “job.” It allows for the flexible career that can bring great rewards. It allows to try new fields like real estate development, construction or property management, theatre set design, industrial design, designing theme parks, and much more.

The University of Maryland’s School of Architecture Planning and Preservation has been my home for the last 3 years. Four years ago I was in your shoes and spent the 1st year of my college career completely lost. I had no idea what I wanted to do or what degree to pursue, and I decided to meet with a counselor the school of architecture. I was welcomed with open arms, as you too will be too. I hope this series has served as a guide and addressed any doubts that you may have had about architecture. Remember, architecture is not just drawings with pencil and paper, its what you want it to be. The choice is yours.

Word Count: 391

Sources:

http://arch.umd.edu/arch/architecture

http://arch.umd.edu/arch/high-school-summer-program

 

Leave a Reply

